Telegram - Good practices

Settings can only do so much to protect you. Your security and privacy also comes from how you use the app. This guides covers logged in devices and general good practices

Last modified
22nd July 2020
Guide level
Guide app/software
Guide OS
Guide Device

Other devices on which you might be logged in

You might have used Telegram on another phone or a computer. A good practice after doing so is to logout to make sure nobody can use your account without your permission. If you ever forget, Telegram allows you to terminate any session that is not on the current device you are using. We recommend checking this on a regular basis and removing everything you don't recognise. If you only use one device (such as your phone), this list should be empty.

To access this setting:

  • Open Telegram and tap on the three bars on the top left of the screen
  • Tap Settings > Devices
  • Terminate any session you don't recognise or tap Terminate All Other Sessions if you only use one device
List of active sessions, this should be empty if you only use one device

Good practices

  • If a stranger starts a conversation with you claiming to be someone you know, try to ensure that they are who they claim they are before providing any information about yourself
  • Joining a group will make your phone number visible to all group members. Before joining a group we recommend you to be careful as to who might access this information
  • Messaging apps such as Telegram are often use to send virus through files and links. We recommend you to be very vigilant before downloading anything sent to you on Telegram (such as a file or document that requires to be open on your phone) or clicking links sent by people you don't trust.