Twitter - Post settings

Limiting how much information you share on Twitter by tightening the visibility of your post, who can find you, and your location.

Last modified
23rd November 2020
Guide level
Guide app/software
Guide Device

Protect your tweets

Settings & Privacy > Privacy and Safety > Protect your tweets

The first action you can take to make your twitter account more private is to protect your tweets. Enabling this option will make your tweets visible only to people who follow you. If selected, you will need to approve each new follower.

This is an interesting solution if your account is not meant to be public and is rather for friends, family or for a specific community. It gives you great control on who can see what you post.

Privacy and safety app setting: protect your tweets

Photo tagging

Settings & Privacy > Privacy and Safety > Photo tagging

If you don't protect your tweets you might be tagged in photos by other people. You might not want photos of you posted on Twitter associated with your account. To prevent this from happening, disable photo tagging.

Disable photo tagging

Settings & Privacy > Privacy and Safety > Location information

Your location is sensitive information, we recommend you don't share it lightly. To prevent Twitter from using your location on your posts, disable "Location information" (or "Precise location" in the app)

Privacy and safety app setting: precise location

Discoverability & Contacts

Settings & Privacy > Privacy and Safety > Discoverability & Contacts

To avoid people associating your email address with your twitter account (for example if it is a personal address that people might have obtained without your consent), disable the option for people to find you with your email address. We suggest you do the same with phone number.

Discoverability app settings

Manage contacts In the same screen, Twitter lets you manage your contacts. Syncing your contact book will allow you to find other people on Twitter, but will also share these contacts with Twitter. We recommend you don't share your contacts to avoid revealing information about you or the people you know: disable Sync address book contact.

If you have previously synced your contact, we recommend you delete them by tapping on "remove all contacts"